top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe day

Happy hangover day!

Good morning ketoers! If like me and you like to party on a Saturday night you’re most likely wondering which alcohol is ”keto friendly”. Well, i hate to be the bearer of bad news, but like any diet alcohol is normally not recommended 😫 when you drink alcohol while in ketosis not only is it absorbed ALOT quicker (meaning you’ll get a buzz faster than normal), it will also kick you out of ketosis. Your body will focus on burning the alcohol and essentially pause burning fat temporarily as it tries to de-poison your blood of alcohol. It also means your hangover the next day will ultimately suck a lot more than usual 🙈 If you carb cycle like I do (I’ll cover carb cycling in another post soon) then I recommend eating carbohydrates the next day to get over your ghastly hangover, and the day following fast for a minimum of 16hrs so that your body utilises the influx of glucose rather than storing it. I wouldn’t recommend drinking for the first 6 weeks of doing the keto diet as this will guarantee you to be in ketosis and it will be easier for you to jump straight back on the wagon after being kicked out. If you are planning on drinking while doing keto here is a few images of what alcohol contains what carbohydrate content taken from my favourite website dietdoctor.com

my go to drink is a zero carb zero cal classic, vodka and Coke Zero or Pepsi max!


291 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What’s up Ketoers!

Just thought i’d stop by to let you all know that I now have a ‘contact me’ section at the bottom of my page! If you have any questions feel free to drop me an email! If I get the same questions from

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page